What makes you happy ?

"Karma man, just remember Karma. Treat things nice and nice things happen to you." © Claire

Theft in Kalamazoo continues

12:18 Sunday 14 Oct 07

I blogged this last week because the owner of that site was stealing other people’s content. Reminder of the whois:

Registrant:
Nicholas Weinberg
8548 old oak circle
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49009
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: IDEAHUSTLE.COM
Created on: 12-Jun-06
Expires on: 12-Jun-08
Last Updated on: 12-Jun-07

and I was happy because the host Liquidxhost.com closed the site because I sent a dmca notice their way.
Well.. it’s back. I think what the site owner said was “Okay, so I’ll not steal content from those blogs, I’ll steal it from everything about paintball.” Which is what he is doing - it’s a Paintball Directory.
In the header:
“content=”Copyright (c) 2006 by IdeaHustle.com. All rights reserved!”

It’s still theft, his host is still abetting it (wouldn’t you watch a previously dmca’d site?) and even though he protested that the site is not his it is still in his name. This time I get your pub-ID - I was daft not to last time.

More: Splogs

Nicholas Weinberg of Kalamazoo, Michigan

14:36 Tuesday 9 Oct 07

ideahustle.com is a splog. It is stealing content and earning the blog owner (AND google) money from other people’s work.

WHOIS for ideahustle.com
Administrative Contact:
Weinberg, Nicholas we6936@netzero.net
8548 old oak circle
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49009
United States
(269) 375-0743

His registrar and his host have DMCA notices. His adsense has been reported (like THAT will get any action!). And I have emailed him the details too. We’ll see what if anything happens.

Seeing as most sploggers have the sense to use some sort of privacy, is there a list anywhere for the real low-brow sploggers? Is there somewhere to pin their details surrounded by words such as ‘thief’ ’scum’ ‘con-artist’ and other choice words? If not, I’ll make a page and Mr Nicholas Weinberg in the state of Michigan can be the first incumbent.

Update#1: from Godaddy

We are not hosting this site. We are the domain name registrar only. We have no access to, nor jurisdiction over the content on this site. The hosting provider is the company responsible for the registered name servers available from a WHOIS lookup.

So domain registrars are not responsible for anything the domain is used for and the DMCA cannot be used in that respect. Useful to know. Very useful.

Update#2 from Godaddy

As the DMCA currently reads it does not extend to registrars where they are not providing domain nameservers for the use of the domain name. As previously stated, we have no jurisdiction over the content that is not hosted on our network. You will need to contact the hosting provider as previously stated.

Again, very useful to know. Of course no jurisdiction does not mean you can’t act.

Update#3 Suspension!
Victory! The domain has been suspended by it’s host and much kudos to them for doing it. The email seems to have done the trick so I’ll make that into a “Fill in the blanks” template. I’ll be checking to see if that splog domain comes back - he’ll probably just move hosts.

More: Splogs



|| Home ||

FreshlyPressed - Feed - Privacy - 2.4-bleeding - 17 - 10,295 - 0.307